Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Resources: Home

Online Teaching Resources

  • Netflix has moved some of their  Educational Documentaries to their YouTube channel to make it easier to share during remote teaching.

 

  • Explore and reuse millions of digital items from the Smithsonian’s Open Access collections (2.8 million at February 2020 launch). These 2D and 3D images and data have been released into the public domain as Creative Commons Zero (CC0), meaning you can use, transform, and share our open access assets without asking permission from the Smithsonian.

 

 

  • Pearson is offering additional resources for online instruction for faculty members.  From strategies to keeping students motivated, faculty members can browse mutliple links to find what they need or are interested in.  Just click on the "Higher Ed Resources" box on the left.

 

  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides open access to millions of images, videos and texts.  There is an Education Guide of primary sources that explores topics in history, literature and culture.

 

  • MoMA is temporarily closed to help New York City and our global community curb the spread of the coronavirus outbreak. With this in mind,  immerse yourself in ideas and see your world in new ways through art.  In MoMA’s free Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) on Coursera, you will hear directly from artists and designers, look closely at works in our collection and exhibitions, and join a community of learners, unlike any other. 

Visit coursera.org/moma to enroll.

Here are more teaching resources available online:

MoMA Learning is a website populated with resources for use in the classroom or self-guided learning. Gain insights and inspiration from MoMA educators on teaching and engaging with modern and contemporary art. 

Browse collections highlights and artwork descriptions for the blind and partially sighted.

MoMA on YouTube 

● “At the Museum,” a behind-the-scenes view of exhibition planning and realization. 

● “How To See”, curators and visiting artists exploring the galleries and explaining how they see the art of our time. 

● “In the Studio,” learn the techniques of the modern masters with these hands-on tutorials. 

● “Artists”, “Painting and Sculpture”, and “Artists Profiles” provide in-depth explorations into specific works and artists in the collection. 

● “MoMA Live,” watch programs, concerts, and events live from the Museum. 

Faculty Resources Using OER

OER Assessment Rubrics

Free Online Primary Sources

Primary sources are first-hand accounts of stories or situations told by the witness or in the first person narrative.  Examples can be letters, diaries, recordings, photos, blogs, newspaper articles and interviews.  They can also include artifacts and maps.  

  • Library of Congress.    Its vast digital collection offers primary source materials that can be used for teaching and research.
  • Primary Source Nexus.  Although catering to K-12 educators, its primary source digital collection is from the Library of Congress and is also useful to faculty and students in higher education.
  • Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
  • DocsTeach.  Docs Teach provides thousands of primary source documents that span the course of American history. Use the search field to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history.
  • Digital Archive Wilson Centre.  The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
  • The Avalon Project. Avalon Project in Yale University provides a wide collection of primary source documents and materials on different areas including law, history, and diplomacy.
  • Life Magazine Photo Archive.  Google and Life Magazine have a wonderful search engine that lets users search millions of images from the Life Magazine Photo Archive. Not only can you type in key terms to guide your searches, you can also look through images organized by decade (1860s through 1970s) or significant people, places, events or sports topics.
  • World Digital Library.  The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.