Skip to main content

Concordia-NY Introduction Library and Research Guide: eJournals vs. Databases

This guide contains a number of resources you will find useful for discovering some of the library's most used resources, and information on the research process in general.

eJournals versus Databases

In assignments, or on the library website, you’ve probably seen the three words “article,” “journal,” and “database.” How do they relate to each other, and how do they relate to searching for published information?

Journals

journal is one of the most common types of published information you will search for in a database. The word journal may be used interchangeably in some places with periodical or serial, but basically a journal is a publication that comes out in issues on a regular basis - for example, the journal Developmental Psychology​ is published on a monthly basis.  Most of the time, journals have a designated volume and issue number, even when they are published online.

You can retrieve an A-Z list of journal titles, grouped by discipline, accessible through the library's databases here

eJournals

Similarly, eJournals are digitized journals produced by a specific journal publisher and accessible via the publisher's digital platform. These eJournals are not accessible through the library's databases.  e-Journals, like print journals, are a good way to stay up to date in your field of study by reviewing currently published articles. 

Access the library's eJournals here.

Databases

Library databases are used to locate articles from multiple journals, magazines or newspapers. There are many types of databases - multidisciplinary databases, or subject specific. Multidisciplinary databases contain articles from various subjects - business, psychology or humanities. An example of a multidisciplinary database is Academic Search Complete.  On the other hand, subject specific databases focus on a certain topic.  An example of a subject specific database is Business Source Premier.  Which type you choose depends on your research needs and your topic.

Access the library's databases here.