Skip to main content

BUS 336: Change and Knowledge Management

Change and Knowledge Management Research Topic

Discuss how corporations implement change and how employees accept it when done correctly or improperly. Discuss the forces, internal and external forces for change from both a domestic and international perspective. You need to bring in multiple examples from real business/companies and not just the text.

Intellectual properties and knowledge management is the life blood of most companies. How should a company manage this area? If new products are introduced, change occurs in any company. How do the employees interface with these activities?

Suggested Keywords (taken from the textbook):

benchmarking learning organization strategic plan
change agent mission statement target elements of change
commitment to change organization development team mental model
external forces for change resilience to change telepresence
internal forces for change resistance to change

 

 

Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Dateline - Search a unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.
  • ABI/INFORM Global - Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000+ companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Search more than 1,200 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
  • Barron's - A weekly publication for investors. Provides in-depth articles examining companies and industries to spotlight possible investment opportunities.
  • Business Source Premier - Provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
  • Wall Street Journal - The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first-rate coverage of hard news.
  • Regional Business News - This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
  • Business Insights: Essentials - Includes company profiles, brand information, company histories, SEC reports, periodical articles, and links to relevant Web sites.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center - An online investment database with information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Designed specifically for libraries and other academic research institutions, it provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio and building tools.
  • Business Economics and Theory - Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.