Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Law Enforcement

Internet Resources: Law Enforcement

Center for Problem-Oriented Policing, Arizona State University

This non-profit organization, comprised of police practitioners, researchers, and universities, is dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing.  Published information available on their webpage focuses on problem solving (72 different problem-specific peer-reviewed guides which review the research literature and reported police practice for specific crimes), teaching and learning, and security and crime prevention.  A wealth of manuals, guidelines, and reports are free of charge.

Civilian Complaint Bureau of NYC

An independent, non-police agency empowered to receive, investigate, hear, make findings and recommend action on complaints against New York City police officers with regards to excessive or unnecessary use of force, abuse of authority, discourtesy, or the use of offensive language. This site includes their mission statement and history; NYPD Patrol Guide; how to file a complaint; information on stop, question and frisk; and news reports and statistics, including their CCB policy recommendations to the police and complaint activity maps.

International Association of Chiefs of Police

Includes information about the organization as well as full text of their extensive collection of publications such as IACP News, IACP Leadership Insights with interviews from law enforcement professionals, IACP's Smaller Law Enforcement Agency Program with resources and guides including recorded webinars for departments serving fewer than 50,000 residents, and its Ethics Resources.

Law EnforcementBureau of Justice Statistics

BJS's Law Enforcement webpage focuses on "individuals and agencies responsible for enforcing laws and maintaining public order and public safety...[including] the prevention, detection, and investigation of crime and the apprehension and detention of individuals suspected of law violation."  Reports and statistics on federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies as well as special topics in law enforcement.

Law Enforcement, CrimeSolutions.org

National Institute of Justice's webpage presenting research and evaluation of programs and practices related to law enforcement in the United States.  See also the section on Crime & Crime Prevention at CrimeSolutions.org.

New York State Police

The official web site of New York State police with mission, goals, employment information and opportunities, and annual reports.  A multitude of information on firearms, crime prevention, criminal investigation, juvenile crime, traffic safety, etc. with relevant links.

NYPD, New York Police Department

The official website of New York's Finest in all its glory--statistics, publications, news, police museum, top cops, NYPD memorial, kids section, photo gallery, press releases, missing persons and most wanted. Some highlights include precinct maps, citywide crime statistics, NYPD crime prevention initiatives, and NYPD reports such as Annual Firearms Discharge Report and Murder in New York City: NYPD's analysis of homicide in NYC.

Official Directory of State Patrol and State Police

This directory of state patrol and police departments was founded by Senior Sergeant (Retired) Terrance D Martin. He provides links to official sites for state police departments in the U.S. as well as a few poems by and about state troopers.

PARC - Police Assessment Resource Center

According to their website, PARC works with law enforcement agencies, local governments, and community organizations in order to provide "independent, evidence-based counsel on effective and accountable policing." Their site provides many of PARC's reports a wide variety of their investigations and assessments of police misconduct, police-community relations, internal monitoring and much more.

National Police Foundation

The National Police Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan, and non-membership-driven organization dedicated to improving American policing through innovation and science.  The Foundation's Publication Library is extensive and covers topics such as crime mapping, American policing, practices and strategies, terrorism, and body worn cameras just to name a few.  An incredible source of other esources such as a Use of Force Infographic which is aimed to educate the public about appropriate police force and how these incidences are investigated.