Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Corrections

Internet Resources: Corrections

New York City Department of Correction

New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision

360degrees: Perspectives on the U.S. Criminal Justice System

A unique collection of first-person stories from inmates, correctional officers, lawyers, judges, parole officers, parents, victims and those whose lives have been affected by the criminal justice system; interactive quizzes, a wonderful all things corrections timeline from 600 to the present from a multitude of perspectives, a list of resources from links to radio to video, and an opportunity to participate in the corrections discussion. 

American Correctional Association

ACA, founded in 1870 and the oldest association developed specifically for practitioners in the correctional profession, is a professional organization comprised of both public and private individuals and groups coming together with the stated purpose of improving the justice system. Their site includes announcements concerning professional development and conferences, information on correctional healthcare standards, and global corrections as well as membership access to their publications Corrections Today and Corrections Compendium.

Correctional Association of New York

The Correctional Association of NY seeks to create a more fair, efficient and humane criminal justice system, and has been granted the authority by the NYS Legislature to inspect prisons and to report its findings and recommendations for improvements to policy makers and the public.

Correctional Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Information on correctional health care issues from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) such a health related State corrections information and reports, Health Data and Statistics, Scientific Reports on correctional health matters, and Research Regulations Regarding Prisoners.

Corrections & Reentry, CrimeSolutions.gov

A National Institute of Justice site with research on and evaluation of programs and practices related to corrections and reentry.

Corrections, National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

The NCJRS provides a wealth of online publications and links to a multitude of  resources. A must-see site for the state of corrections in the United States.

Innocence Project

The Innocence Project's mission is to exonerate those innocent people who have been wrongly incarcerated.  They work towards reforming the criminal justice system responsible for their unjust imprisonment, improving case law and implementing policies that prevent wrongful convictions, in addition to providing support to exonerees in their post-release lives.  A good section on the causes and factors that contribute to wrongful convictions.

Institute for Criminal Policy Research

The Institute for Criminal Policy Research carries out independent multidisciplinary research on crime and the criminal justice system. Their stated key audiences are politicians and their advisors, managers and practitioners within the criminal justice system and other professionals working with offenders. Their site provides work previously conducted by The Institute for Criminal Policy Research, including the World Prison Brief.   Topical publications (not all Full-text)  such as crime and the community, courts, sentencing and attitudes to justice, drugs, alcohol and crimerace, ethnicity and gender crimes are included.

National Institute of Corrections Library

National Institute of Corrections' Digital Resource Library has online publications on offender reentry, among other topics.

New York Correction Historical Society

The New York Correction Historical Society is guided to "pursue, preserve and promote the history of correction services in New York."  Their site offers a wide range of historical information, some concerning individuals, individual facilities and the history of corrections in general in New York State and New York City. Some interesting features include Correction timelines with Executions by Hanging in NYS 1779 - 1889 ; Chronicles of lives, times, places and events in corrections history; a Virtual Museum and Archives of NY Correction History; and various newsletters published by New York City Department of Correction.

Prison Activist Resource Center

Prison Activist Resource Center (PARC) provides an online source for progressive information on prisons and the prosecution system through up-to-date articles, links and other vital resources from prisoners and advocates nationwide. For students, educators, community organizers and anyone concerned with human rights and social justice.

World Prison Brief

World Prison Brief provides free access to information on prison systems around the world. The site provides statistics on prison systems and incarceration rates in over 200 countries. This web site is hosted by the Institute for Criminal Policy Research (ICPR) supports evidence-based development of prison policy and practice globally and provides access to some of their international publication, reports and speeches.

Internet Resources: Prisoner Reentry

Reentry Resource Center: New York

Reentry Net/NY, a project of The Bronx Defenders and Pro Bono Net, is a collaborative education and resource center for individuals and organizations in NY that advocate for people with criminal records and their families.  The site serves as both a support network and clearinghouse for information on prison and jail reentry in NY.

Corrections, Reentry, and Community Supervision, Urban Institute

The Justice Policy Center of the Urban Institute produces research briefs and reports combining quantitative and qualitative methods to analyze crime trends and evaluate prevention initiatives in order to provide objective data grounded in the experiences of victims, offenders, and practitioners.  A substantial resources related to the return of prisoners back to society.

National Reentry Resource Center

The NRRC was established by the Second Chance Act and is administered by the Bureau of Justice Assistance, U.S. Department of Justice.  The Center provides education, training, and technical assistance to agencies working on prisoner reentry. Their mission is to advance and dissemination information in addition to promote evidence-based best practices in offender reentry.

Offender Reentry, National Institute of Justice

The National Institute of Justice's overview of offender reentry as well as links to their research reports and other web resources related to reentry.

Offender Reintegration, National Institute of Corrections

National Institute of Corrections' Digital Resource Library with online publications on offender reentry. Search the entire NIC site for more information.

Prisoner Reentry Institute, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

John Jay College of Criminal Justice's Prisoner Reentry Institute has as its mission is "to spur innovation and improve practice in the field of reentry by advancing knowledge; translating research into effective policy and service delivery; and fostering effective partnerships between criminal justice and non-criminal justice disciplines.”  Discover important Events, Research and Projects related to prisoner reentry.

Reentry, Council of State Governments Justice Center

The Reentry Policy Council (RPC) was established in 2001 to assist state governments in dealing with issues of reentry through bipartisan policies and principles in order to facilitate and coordinate an exchange of information among organizations implementing reentry initiatives, research and funding.  RPC is a national nonprofit organization serving law makers at all levels of government.

Reentry Issue Areas, such as juveniles, mental health and mentoring are richly presented along with reentry Projects, Resource and Facts and Trends.

Reentry/Release, National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Criminal Justice Reference Service’s webpage on prisoner reentry.  Includes Q&As, National Institute of Justice publications as well as links to related websites and publications other than NCJRS.  Recidivism is also covered.

Second Chance for Ex-Offenders Act of 2007(H.R. 623 IH)

Bill summary and status for the Second Chance for Ex-Offenders Act of 2007, a piece of federal legislation on allowing criminal records to be expunged under certain circumstances for certain nonviolent offenders.