New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision - The New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision's official website. The DOCCS News Room and their Research Reports and Publications provide useful information on individuals under custody and parolees in NYS as well as their 54 facilities in NYS.
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services - included on this Division's website are criminal justice statistics, DCJS publications as well as a Directory of New York State Criminal Justice Agencies.
NYC Civilian Complaint Review Board - The NYC Civilian Complaint Review Board (CCRB) is an independent city agency that handles complaints of allegations of NYC police misconduct. Their web page has an online complaint form and links to their News, Reports and Statistics.
Department of Justice - A list of all agencies of the Department of Justice whose stated mission is “to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.”
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosive (ATF) - ATF is a federal law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice whose stated mission is to "protect communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products. diversion; firearms; explosives; and arson."
Bureau of Justice Assistance - BJA is committed to initiatives in many areas of criminal justice such as law enforcement, counter-terrorism, substance abuse, crime prevention. Their site
American Civil Liberties Union - The ACLU web site has special sections on criminal justice and death penalty issues. Included are briefing papers and other online documents.
American Correctional Association - The American Correctional Association provides a professional organization for all individuals and groups, both public and private that share a common goal of improving the justice system.
Correctional Association of New York - The Correctional Association of NY seeks to create a more fair, efficient and humane criminal justice system, and has been granted the authority by the NYS Legislature to inspect prisons and to report its findings and recommendations for improvements to policy makers and the public.
International Association of Chiefs of Police - Includes information about the organization as well as full text of their extensive collection of publications.
PARC - Police Assessment Resource Center - PARC provides resources, advice, and assistance to all those who have responsibilities to their communities or constituents to deal with the consequences of police misconduct. Originally set up by the Vera Institute of Justice in NYC, PARC is a separate organization headquartered in Los Angeles and has provided support to court-appointed police monitors in LA; Wallkill, NY; and Portland, OR. The site archives PARC's own reports and reports of police misconduct commissions such as the Mollen Commission and the Christopher Commission.
Rand Corporation - The Rand Corporation does research on issues relating to the national security and public welfare of the United States and their reports in the criminal justice area are frequently cited. Click on publications to search abstracts of their reports or to read the full text of some major studies.
The Sentencing Project - Founded in 1986, the Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing, policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration.
Vera Institute of Justice - The Vera Institute of Justice, based in New York City, conducts research on public policies in criminal justice. Many of their publications are available online in PDF format.