Skip to main content

BIO 330: Assocations

This libguide serves to help students on how to do research and use the library's resources.

Associations in Biology

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). 1200 New York Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20005. E-Mail: membership@aaas.org. URL: http://www.aaas.org  Founded 1848. This the largest general scientific organization representing all fields of science. Membership includes 10 million individuals and 261 affiliated societies and academies of science. Objectives are to further the work of scientists to facilitate cooperation among them, to foster scientific freedom and responsibility, to improve the effectiveness of science in the promotion of human welfare, to advance education in science, and to increase public understanding and appreciation of the importance and promise of the methods of science in human progress. Publications include ScienceScience SignalingScience Translational MedicineScience Books and Films, Science Careers Web site, and EurekAlert! news service. The Web site provides information about AAAS, news about science and society, science education, careers, media, awards, science books and films, and more.
  • American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS). 1444 I St. NW, Ste. 200 Washington, DC 20005. E-Mail: rogrady@aibs.org. URL: http://www.aibs.org  Founded 1947. 6,000 members. This is a professional member organization and federation of biological associations, laboratories and museums whose members have an interest in the life sciences. Publications: BioScience and ActionBioscience.org, an English-Spanish science education resource. The Web site includes information about AIBS, publications, outreach and education, and public policy. AIBS member societies are participating in the electronic publishing venture, BioOne (see Chapter 1).
  • Association of Applied Biologists (AAB). Warwick Enterprise Park. Warwick CV35 9EF, UK. E-Mail: rebecca@aab.org.uk. URL: http://www.aab.org.uk    Founded 1904. 1,200 members. Research scientists in private and state applied biology institutes and universities in 60 countries interested in furthering development in the field of applied biology. Publications: Annals of Applied Biology, Plant Biotechnology Journal, and Food and Energy Security. Web site includes membership information and links to other resources.


  • European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). Meyerhofstrasse 1, D-69117 Heidelberg, Germany. E-Mail: embo@embo.org. URL: http://www.embo.org   Promotes the advancement of molecular biology in Europe and neighboring countries, administers programs funded by the Europe­an Molecular Biology Conference consisting of fellowships and courses. The organization holds courses and workshops, and presents an annual award. Publications: EMBO Journal, EMBO Reports, Molecular Systems Biology, and EMBO Molecular Medicine. They hold periodic general assemblies and an annual symposium.


  • Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB). 9650 Rockville Pike. Bethesda, MD 20814. E-mail: info@faseb.org. URL: http://www.faseb.org  Founded 1912. 110,000 members in 27 member societies. Member societies include American Physiological Society, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, American Society for Investigative Pathology, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, American Association of Immunologists, American Society for Cell Biology, Biophysical Society, American Association of Anatomists, and The Protein Society among others. Publishes the FASEB JournalBreakthroughs in Bioscience, and Horizons in Bioscience. The Web page has links to the member societies, public affairs, career resources, meetings and conferences, membership directories, publications, and employment opportunities.
  • International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS); Union Internationale des Sciences Biologiques. Bat 442 Universite Paris-Sud 11. 91 405 Orsay Cedex, France. E-Mail: nfomproix@iubs.org. URL: http://www.iubs.org  Founded 1919. 117 member societies. This is an organization of national societies and international associations and commissions engaged in the study of biological sciences. Their aims are to promote the study of biological sciences; to initiate, facilitate, and coordinate research and other scientific activities; to ensure the discussion and dissemination of the results of cooperative research; to promote the organization of international conferences; and to assist in the publication of their reports. Publications: Biology InternationalMonograph Series, Methodology Series, and the proceedings of the IUBS General Assembly. The Web page has primarily society information.
  • Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom (MBAUK). The Laboratory, Citadel Hill, Devon, Plymouth PL1 2PB, UK. E-Mail:sec@mba.ac.uk. URL: http://www.mba.ac.uk   Founded 1884. 1,500 members.  Marine biologists, botanists, and scientists encourage cooperation among membres; disseminates information on latest research; studies living resources of the seas.  Publishes Journal of the Marine Biological Association.  The web page provides access to MBA information, research, biodiversity initiatives, education, communication, membership, and knowledge exchange.

  • National Academy of Sciences (NAS). 500 5th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001. URL: http://www.nasonline.org  Founded 1741. 2,200 members. Honorary organization dedicated to the furtherance of science and engineering. Members are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing contributions. Founded by an act of Congress to serve as official adviser to the federal government on scientific and technical matters. Publishes Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Biographical Memoirs and Issues in Science and Technology. The very extensive Web site provides information on the Academy, news bulletins, numerous online reports created by the Academy, and links to the National Academy Press. Thousands of books published by the press can be viewed for free on their Web site.
  • Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine (SEBM). 130 W Pleasant Ave., No. 334, Maywood, NJ 07607. E-Mail: sebm@inch.com. URL: http://www.sebm.org  Founded 1903. 1,500 members and 3 regional groups actively engaged in research in experimental biology and experimental medicine. Publication: Experimental Biology and Medicine. The Web site has membership information.
  • Society of Biology. Charles Darwin House 12 Roger St. London WC1N 2JU, UK. E-Mail: info@societyofbiology.org. URL: http://www.societyofbiology.org   Founded 1950.  17,000 members. Biologist, the Journal of Biological Education, and occasional publications. The web page provides links to information about the society, education and training, news, publications, membership, affiliated societies, and UK branches.  Formerly: Institute of Biology; Bioscience Federation.

  • Tropical Biology Association (TBA). Dept. of Zoology, Downing St., Cambridge CB2 3EJ, UK. E-Mail: tba@tropical-biology.org. URL: http://www.tropical-biology.org  Founded 1994. 37 members. The Association aims to meet the challenge of biodiversity conservation by establishing an informed, well-motivated community of tropical biologists based both in Europe and in tropical countries. The Web site contains information about the association and resources for funding, skill building, and much more.‚Äč