Skip to main content

ENG 260C - East Meets West: Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism

What is a literary criticism?

Literary criticisms are interpretations or analysis that other authors have written on a literary work (e.g., short stories, novels). Take note that it's often easier to find articles on more popular authors and literary works.  For example, you may easily find information on well-known authors, playwrights, or poets such as Toni Morrison, Arthur Miller, and/or Robert Frost.

Types of Literary Criticisms

Databases

Databases

  • Literature Resource Center - A comprehensive and reliable, online literature resource with more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays, reviews and broadcast transcripts, as well as biographical coverage of more than 135,000 authors.
  • JSTOR Language and Literature - Developed with the help of the Modern Language Association, this collection includes PMLA and a range of core journals in the diverse fields of literary criticism that have emerged in the last thirty years. User Tutorial
  • ProQuest Central Essentials - ProQuest Central Essentials provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports.
  • Academic Search Complete - This comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database accesses more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc