Skip to main content

Nursing General Library Resources : Home

Search CINAHL Database Videos

The CINAHL Database provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.

How do I use the CINAHL database to find articles? (Video)

CINAHL Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)

How do I use the CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings Feature? (Video)

CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings Tutorial (PowerPoint)

 

 

Nursing e-Journals

Nursing eJournals are not databases, but digitized nursing journals, produced by journal publishers. eJournal titles are a good way to stay up to date in your field by seeing what articles are being published.
 
 
AJN: American Journal of Nursing
Journal of Nursing Management
Journal of Nursing Administration
MCN, The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing
Nursing
Nursing Administration Quarterly
Nursing Management
Nursing Research
Nursing Science Quarterly

ALL the library's Health Related Databases

Access ALL the library's health related databases here.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 
Health Reference Center Academic
MEDLINE 
ProQuest Health Management 
National Library of Medicine 
PLoSMedicine

FREE Open Educational Resources (OER)

Kahn Academy

 Test prep NCLEX-RN

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care (Textbook)

Author(s): Glynda Rees Doyle, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Jodie Anita McCutcheon, British Columbia Institute of Technology

Updated: May 9, 2019

Description: This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning...[more]

Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know (Textbook)

Author(s): Susan E. Lowey, The College at Brockport, SUNY

Updated: Jan 28, 2020

Description: Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know should be an essential component of basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks is related to end-of-life care, despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country. The purpose of this textbook...[more]

Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions (Textbook)

Author(s): Sherri Melrose PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Caroline Park PhD, RN, Athabasca University, Beth Perry PhD, RN, Athabasca University

Updated: May 9, 2019

Description: This peer reviewed e-book is a must-read for nurses and other health professionals who strive to teach with creativity and excellence in clinical settings. Each chapter presents current evidence informed educational practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with text boxes describing ‘Creative Strategies’ that clinical teachers from across Canada have successfully implemented. For those who are interested in background knowledge, the authors provided a comprehensive literature base. And,...[more]

Health Case Studies (Textbook)

Author(s): Glynda Rees, Rob Kruger, Janet Morrison; British Columbia Institute of Technology

Updated: May 9, 2019

Description: Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies that align with the open textbooks Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care and Anatomy and Physiology: OpenStax. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation. The case studies can be used online...[more]

Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan - 1st Canadian Edition (Textbook)

Author(s): Jennifer L. Lapum, Margaret Verkuyl, Wendy Garcia, Oona St-Amant, Andy Tan, Ryerson University

Updated: Mar 23, 2020

Description: The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Using a multi-media approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement.