Skip to main content

Sociology: Information Resources

An introduction to databases and other resources for sociology research

Statistical resources

Social statistics is the use of statistical measurement systems to study human behavior in a social environment. This can be accomplished through polling a group of people, evaluating a subset of data obtained about a group of people, or by observation and statistical analysis of a set of data that relates to people and their behaviors.

Social scientists use social statistics for many purposes, including:

  • the evaluation of the quality of services available to a group or organization,
  • analyzing behaviors of groups of people in their environment and special situations,
  • determining the wants of people through statistical sampling (Wikipedia).

American Factfinder 

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. 

The Bureau of Justice Statistics

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics

United Nations Statistical Division

The United Nations Statistics Division committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. They compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.

Infoshare (Library Database)

Locate: local, State, and National data describing population, health, and socio-economic conditions. Infoshare can give you information on a wide variety of geographic areas, and it allows you to tabulate this data in tables of your own choosing.

Opposing Viewpoints  (Library Database)

Locate information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites.

Polling Data

Reuters / Ipsos poll

Data is primarily drawn from online surveys using sampling methods.

 GALLUP

‚ÄčGallup's Polls survey the well-being, behaviors, and attitudes of the world's citizens in more than 130 countries.

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. 

 

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete - A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.  
Nexis Uni -  Includes primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. 
Gale’s Academic OneFile - This database contains journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text.
Gale’s General OneFile - This general periodical database contains periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text.
Opposing Viewpoints - Pro and Con viewpoints from full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites.
ProQuest Central Essentials -  Provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage.